When is the next Formula 1 race? F1 schedule, date, start time for 2021 Belgian Grand Prix

Waiting is the hardest part in Formula 1.

After a pair of dramatic races at Silverstone and the Hungaroring, Formula 1 drivers head into a much-needed summer break, with three weeks off until the next race in the F1 schedule.

With Lewis Hamilton taking two podium finishes in the British GP and the Hungarian GP, he once again sits atop the driver’s championship table — the wins weren’t without storylines, though. 

Hamilton collided with Max Verstappen at Silverstone, sending the Red Bull driver careening into the wall. A 10-second penalty didn’t keep Hamilton from grabbing the win, his eighth straight at the circuit. In Hungary, Mother Nature played the antagonist: A wet track at lights out forced several drivers out and caused big-time damage to others. Verstappen’s car survived the wreck, but the damage was insurmountable.

Alpine driver Esteban Ocon won the race, while Hamilton roared back to take third — and later second after Sebastian Vettel was disqualified. 

Time to catch your breath. Here’s what you need to know about the next F1 race:

MORE: Watch Formula 1 live with fuboTV (7-day free trial)

Is there a Formula 1 race today?

  • Next F1 race: Belgian Grand Prix
  • Date: Sunday, Aug. 29
  • Lights out: 9 a.m. ET

In a word: Spa.

F1 drivers head to Belgium for Round 12 of the 2021 FIA Formula 1 World Championship on Aug. 29, with the unofficial second half of the year coming from the fan-favorite track.

In 2020, Lewis Hamilton took the top step at the Belgian GP, with Valtteri Bottas and Max Verstappen filling out the podium behind him.

Formula 1 schedule 2021

Formula 1 returns in 2021 with a zaftig 22-race schedule, starting with the Bahrain Grand Prix on March 28 and concluding with the customary Abu Dhabi Grand Prix on Dec. 12. 

The Portuguese Grand Prix returns for its second-consecutive running after a 22-year absence. Also making its debut this year is the Saudi Arabian Grand Prix taking place on the Jeddah Street Circuit, scheduled for December.

The Australian Grand Prix, originally scheduled for Nov. 21, has been axed. Several options are on the table to take its place.

The Singapore GP was nixed in early June, with the Turkish Grand Prix taking its place the same weekend.

All times Eastern.

Date Race Course Start time TV channel Winner
March 28 Bahrain Grand Prix Bahrain International Circuit 11 a.m. ESPN2 Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
April 18 Emilia Romagna Grand Prix Autodromo Internazionale Enzo e Dino Ferrari 9 a.m. TBD Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
May 2 Portuguese Grand Prix Algarve International Circuit 10 a.m. ESPN Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
May 9 Spanish Grand Prix Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya 9 a.m. ESPN Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
May 23 Monaco Grand Prix Circuit de Monaco 9 a.m. ESPN2 Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
June 6 Azerbaijan Grand Prix Baku City Circuit 8 a.m. ESPN Sergio Perez (Red Bull)
June 20 French Grand Prix Circuit Paul Ricard 9 a.m. ESPN2 Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
June 27 Styrian Grand Prix Red Bull Ring 9 a.m. ESPN Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
July 4 Austrian Grand Prix Red Bull Ring 9 a.m. ESPN Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
July 18 British Grand Prix Silverstone Circuit 10 a.m. ESPN Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
Aug. 1 Hungarian Grand Prix Hungaroring 9 a.m. ESPN Esteban Ocon (Alpine)
Aug. 29 Belgian Grand Prix Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps 9 a.m. ESPN2 TBD
Sept. 5 Dutch Grand Prix Circuit Zandvoort 9 a.m. ESPN2 TBD
Sept. 12 Italian Grand Prix Autodromo Nazionale di Monza 9 a.m. ESPN2 TBD
Sept. 26 Russian Grand Prix Sochi Autodrom 8 a.m. ESPN2 TBD
Oct. 3 Turkish Grand Prix Istanbul Park Circuit TBD TBD TBD
Oct. 10 Japanese Grand Prix Suzuka International Racing Course 1 a.m. ESPN2 TBD
Oct. 24 United States Grand Prix Circuit of the Americas 3 p.m. ABC TBD
Oct. 31 Mexico City Grand Prix Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez 3 p.m. ABC TBD
Nov. 7 Brazilian Grand Prix Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace Noon ESPN2 TBD
Dec. 5 Saudi Arabian Grand Prix Jeddah Street Circuit 11 p.m. ESPN2 TBD
Dec. 12 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix Yas Marina Circuit 8 a.m. ESPN2 TBD

Source link