Who won the NASCAR race yesterday? Complete results from Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte

The winner of Sunday night’s NASCAR Cup Series race at Charlotte Motor Speedway put his team alone at the top when it comes to finishing first.  

Kyle Larson dominated from the pole in the Coca-Cola 600 to give Hendrick Motorsports its 269th win in the series. The victory broke a tie with Petty Enterprises for the most by a team in Cup history.

Larson now has two of those 269 wins (the other was in March at Las Vegas) after beating teammate Chase Elliott in the longest race of the season by mileage. Elliott earned the record-tying win the previous weekend at Circuit of the Americas, with Larson finishing second.

Below is more about Larson’s win Sunday, plus the complete results of the race.

Who won the NASCAR race yesterday?

Kyle Larson drove away and hid from the field in the Coca-Cola 600. The polesitter led 327 of 400 laps and was more than 10 seconds ahead of his teammate Elliott at the checkered flag.

“It feels great to be the guy to help Mr. H (team owner Rick Hendrick) break that record finally,” Larson told FS1’s Jamie Little in a postrace interview. He is in his first season at Hendrick Motorsports after signing with the organization last fall.

Hendrick made sure to praise Petty when he was asked to reflect on the milestone. “No. 1, Richard Petty’s the king of NASCAR and he’s done so much for this sport,” he told FS1’s Vince Welch.

“Man, this is so awesome,” Hendrick told Welch later. “All I could think about was the first win (by Geoff Bodine at Martinsville in 1984) and all the drivers. I want to thank every driver that’s ever driven that won a race, and the ones that didn’t win.” 

NASCAR results from Charlotte

Kyle Larson and Chase Elliott gave Hendrick Motorsports yet another 1-2 finish, and HMS almost swept the top four spots for a second time this season. Kyle Busch, driving for Joe Gibbs Racing, finished third. Hendrick drivers William Byron and Alex Bowman completed the top five.

Busch’s first four Cup wins came while he was driving for Hendrick. He paid Larson a high compliment after seeing him win in the No. 5 car, which Busch used to drive.

“They’ve certainly gone to work and done their homework. They’ve also plugged in a superstar driver to one of their cars,” Busch said. “Obviously, Chase is no slouch, William’s really good, but I mean, Kyle is arguably one of the best. So I think that they’ve done a really good job, obviously, of getting good equipment, good pieces and Kyle’s making the most of it.”

Next up for the Cup Series is a visit to the West Coast and a return to road racing. The Toyota/SaveMart 350 is scheduled for Sunday at Sonoma (Calif.) Raceway (4 p.m. ET; FS1, PRN).

Finish Driver Team
1 Kyle Larson Hendrick Motorsports
2 Chase Elliott Hendrick Motorsports
3 Kyle Busch Joe Gibbs Racing
4 William Byron Hendrick Motorsports
5 Alex Bowman Hendrick Motorsports
6 Austin Dillon Richard Childress Racing
7 Denny Hamlin Joe Gibbs Racing
8 Chris Buescher Roush Fenway Racing
9 Tyler Reddick Richard Childress Racing
10 Kevin Harvick Stewart-Haas Racing
11 Brad Keselowski Team Penske
12 Ricky Stehouse Jr. JTG Daugherty Racing
13 Ryan Blaney Team Penske
14 Bubba Wallace 23XI Racing
15 Daniel Suarez TrackHouse Racing
16 Erik Jones Richard Petty Motorsports
17 Joey Logano Team Penske
18 Matt DiBenedetto Wood Brothers Racing
19 Corey LaJoie Spire Motorsports
20 Michael McDowell Front Row Motorsports
21 Cole Custer Stewart-Haas Racing
22 Aric Almirola Stewart-Haas Racing
23 Chase Briscoe Stewart-Haas Racing
24 Christopher Bell Joe Gibbs Racing
25 Anthony Alfredo Front Row Motorsports
26 Ryan Preece JTG Daugherty Racing
27 Ryan Newman Roush Fenway Racing
28 Justin Haley Spire Motorsports
29 Martin Truex Jr. Joe Gibbs Racing
30 Cody Ware Rick Ware Racing
31 BJ McLeod Live Fast Motorsports
32 Quin Houff StarCom Racing
33 James Davison Rick Ware Racing
34 Garrett Smithley Petty Ware Racing
35 Josh Bilicki Rick Ware Racing
36 David Starr Motorsports Business Management
37 Ross Chastain Chip Ganassi Racing
38 Kurt Busch Chip Ganassi Racing

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *